New Year’s Resolution: No!

Here we go again!

Here we go again!

It seems that all of my Facebook friends posted a New Year message to their friends, families and most of the time, to themselves. It was a fad that almost everyone claimed that 2013 is their year! 😀 I bet 2013 is not selfish and can be owned by up to 6 billion people. 😉

It’s also the time of the year when people normally create new year’s resolution or goals. In most cases, I’m not a fan of that list. Why? Simply because I don’t wait for a year to reflect on the things that worked well and things that need to be changed. Sounds self-righteous but it is something that can actually be done regularly.

I learned to make the most of what I call, think time. There are tasks in our daily routine that we are almost pre-occupied but gladly, we can still think. If I’m not in a hurry, I take time to reflect and plan ahead when I take a bath, sit at the toilet throne (too much info!) or commute my way to and from the office. I sometimes look at my calendar of meetings for the next three days and think of topics that I should be discussing while I’m inside an elevator. We normally perceive these as idle moments, but actually, we can really be productive.

I believe that we don’t need to wait for Dec 31 to reflect to the year that was and create action plan. We also don’t need to regularly block a schedule on a weekly basis to do this. There are idle times in our daily routine that we can turn into more productive moments that will enable us to be a better person in the long run. Just have a sense of discipline to keep track of your action items and we should be all fine! 🙂

Image from http://blog.peertransfer.com/2012/12/26/making-new-years-resolutions-and-sticking-to-them/

Leave a Reply

